My first rutabaga

January 9, 2010 at 9:08 pm Leave a comment

It’s January, it’s North Carolina, and I’m trying to find a local vegetable to put on my dinner menu.  The freezer is bare. We’ve already had sweet potatoes this week, Swiss chard, kale and spinach.  I need something different.

What’s left at my friendly natural foods co-operative is a bit of an adventure for me.  You see, I’ve never eaten or cooked a rutabaga before. I’m not even sure I know what it is. It sounds more like a car than a vegetable, but I’m willing to give it a try.

I get lucky. There’s a recipe in the newspaper, it says you can roast it til it carmelizes, just like squash or sweet potatoes. So I peel it like a tater, chop it into small cubes, toss it in olive oil, a bit of the last of my CSA garlic (sigh), and a dash of agave nectar. I throw it all together in a pan and shove it in the oven. So far so good.

I have the oven set at 450 degrees F. for the first 15 minutes for my roasted chicken, a free-ranger also scored at the co-op. Then I lower the temperature to 350 for the chicken, flip the bird (I mean turn over the hen) to circulate those juices, turn the rutabaga pieces over and notice they are now nicely browned. Looks promising.

About 10 minutes later it’s time to taste. Wow.  It looks like roasted potatoes but tastes like a combination of sweet potatoes and winter squash — my favorite vegetables. Til now.  And Jeffrey likes it too, doesn’t pause or look up til he swallows the last bit, smiling.

Who says it’s hard being a locavore?

Entry filed under: Sustainable Food, Uncategorized. Tags: .

Farmers’ markets soar Calling all students

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

Categories

Archives


