Seeds of change

January 25, 2010 at 8:52 pm 5 comments

So what can you do when it feels like the world is growing dim? When Ted Kennedy’s seat is lost to a GOP pin-up boy in a pick-up truck. And the Supremes decide that corporations have the same rights as people and can spend without limit to influence political campaigns. (So does this mean we can prosecute them for crimes against nature and lock them up for life?). The unemployment rate and the price of gas keep going up. And, dammit, it’s still winter.

When dark clouds hover, there’s only one solution: Plant some seeds. I’ve been obsessing over my modest garden plans for weeks when I suddeny realized, it may still be January in North Carolina but I can start some stuff growing inside right now. Then I can plant outside in a couple of weeks under some low plastic tunnels, and be back in the dirt before you can say “arugula.” Yes!

So I snap up some new seeds for Ruby Red Swiss Chard (couldn’t find no Rainbow) and Genovese Basil, and some old seeds for Red Leaf Lettuce and Green Leaf Lettuce. I carefully set them in some little peat-moss plugs, sprinkle them with water and tuck them, lovingly, under a transparent table-top plastic lid that the garden store promotes as a “greenhouse.”

Now’s the hard part. I always feel like a little kid when I’m waiting for seeds to germinate, then to get stronger, then to be ready to plant in the garden. And once I transplant them I go out in the garden several times a day, get down on my knees and just stare.  Is anything happening? Is everybody okay down there?

It’s the miracle of recycled life recycling in front of my eyes. My dead leaves and dinner scraps have turned into compost, my compost into a garden bed, my garden bed into a food incubator.

 My favorite part comes when all of a sudden, they are no longer little seedlings or transplants, but real, live, actual, vegetables, ready for the table and the tummy. I can almost taste them right now. 

Guess we’ll have to wait a bit for that. But soon I can get some more seeds started, and before you know it, it will be time to plant pea seeds directly in the garden bed.  By then my transplanted rosemary and oregano should be taking hold…Oops, getting ahead of myself again.

I feel better already. I wonder if Michelle ever takes the POTUS by the hand and drags him out to the White House garden for a peek at the produce? They’ve got life growing under those low plastic tunnels right now, I saw the video, so there should be plenty of little miracles for inspiration. He should take a quick look, before the State of the Union on Wednesday, just to put it all in perspective.

Meanwhile, you’ll have to excuse me;  it’s time to check under the plastic seed-starter cover in the dining room to see how it’s going…. just one more time.

Entry filed under: Commentary, Uncategorized.

Raj Patel: Food is key to sustainability Time to sign up with CSA farmers

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. edibleearthscape  |  January 25, 2010 at 10:31 pm

    that’s awesome. good for you for having your own garden. and i too am always in awe of witnessing the cycle of life in front of my eyes. Amazing how a little seed turns into real food with just some sun, air, water and soil. Oh and don’t forget love.

    Reply
    • 2. sustainablegrub  |  January 26, 2010 at 8:24 pm

      You guys inspired me, but my garden will never be as awesome as your farm.

      Reply
  • 3. Time to sign up with CSA farmers « sustainable grub  |  January 30, 2010 at 2:37 pm

    […] cornucopia we’ll enjoy soon as the growing season warms up. (My lettuce, chard and basil seeds are already sprouting!). It’s also a good time to enroll in a CSA (Community Supported […]

    Reply
  • 4. ValleyGirl  |  January 30, 2010 at 8:13 pm

    Dee, yes, we are snowbound, AND, we are still harvesting carrots and beets from our organic garden that Stephen planted in August for the fall crop! It’s a gift and a miracle to be able to grow and EAT our own food right into winter. Those beets and carrots make great borscht.

    Reply
    • 5. sustainablegrub  |  January 31, 2010 at 9:53 am

      Lucky you…. all I’ve got in the ground is rosemary and oregano…..and garlic waiting for June.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 54 other followers

Categories

Archives


