Take the scenic route

April 30, 2010 at 11:58 am 1 comment

We stumbled on a lovely post by Elizabeth Thompson on the Piedmont Biofarm blog, excerpted here with permission:

Bee on mustard

Community Supported Agriculture was born of a hunger for deeper connection in an increasingly fragmented world. I love how the hungers that planted the first seeds of this movement continue to be fed in the CSAs of 2010.

Our Piedmont Biofarm CSA offers plentiful and delicious vegetables, but it also offers gems of connection and relationship to the land, our food and our neighbors. This, I believe, is life on the scenic route.

Being a part of a CSA is taking an active stance in living a slower, more present life.

The reality of life’s business and speed is constant, from the whirl of email to the buzz of the highways.  Yet we can take little stances of connection and interaction that give our life some breathing room like the pauses in music or the blank spaces on a page.

Coming to the Biofarm is a breathing space for me, a bit like meditation.  I inhale more deeply and connect to the earth, my food, and my neighbors.  I feel, in a more direct way than is possible at a supermarket, the web of connection that keeps people and land in constant conversation.

I see the wind bending the flowering tops of the mustard greens down towards the ground. I feel the grit of the dry, red clay between my toes. I see the soil stained overalls of my farmer.  I see neighbors who are nourished by the same soil, and I go home to taste the richness and freshness of these connections in my meals.

— Elizabeth Thompson is a member of the Piedmont Biofarm CSA.

Entry filed under: Commentary, Sustainable Farming, Sustainable Food, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Quote of the Week: From two chefs, many Spring Parsnips – a hard core lesson in letting go

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Tammy McLeod  |  May 1, 2010 at 6:24 pm

    I really love her statement that
    “Community Supported Agriculture was born of a hunger for deeper connection in an increasingly fragmented world.” I agree and then we learned of so many other benefits!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers

Categories

Archives


