The zen of compost

September 25, 2010 at 9:03 pm 2 comments

Let’s face it, most of the time the world makes no sense. People rant about the federal deficit one day and vote for tax cuts the next.   A man of the church threatens to burn a religious book in the name of freedom and democracy.

Wall street gamblers bankrupt the country and get a bailout, increasing the value of their stock and their personal bank accounts. Bankrupt homeowners, on the other hand,  end up on the street.

When it all gets to be a bit much, I find myself needing to get down to the essential fundamentals of life as we know it. Compost.

That’s right, that stinky pile of food scraps breaking down under my kitchen sink is about the only thing that comforts me when I’ve had too much cable news or just find myself staring into the existential abyss.

My food scraps help me understand life and put it into perspective.

This afternoon I went to my compost bin and loaded up a wheelbarrow full of amazing soil for my fall garden. A few months ago it was garbage.

This evening as I finished cooking a pot of soup made with squash from the backyard and chicken stock made from a neighbor’s hen, I emptied the scraps into the compost bucket like I always do and carried it out to the bin.

That’s when I fixed on the daily lesson that happens right under my nostrils everyday. I remembered where that rich dirt came from, what it would nurture, what it would mean for my household, and how it would eventually rot and decay to start the cycle all over again.

Most people think taking out the garbage is a drag. I look forward to it. My favorite part is churning the pile to hasten the alchemy.

I’ll take compost over church, politics or cable news any day. No wonder they call it black gold.

— Dee Reid

Entry filed under: Commentary, Sustainable Food. Tags: , , , , .

Hi-Def Chickens in 3-D Pittsboro PepperFest, Pretty Soon

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Robert Sprenger / aka Door Doc  |  September 25, 2010 at 9:24 pm

    I enjoy the Sustainable Grub blog very much. Thanks Dee. I appreciate that most posts are now signed by the author. I prefer it that way….Rob

    Reply
    • 2. Sustainable Grub  |  September 26, 2010 at 12:02 am

      Glad you enjoy it. When I started the blog, all of the posts were by me, so I never bothered to sign them. But now that we have several regular contributors, I try to remember to put my byline on mine.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Latest Tweets

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 54 other followers

Categories

Archives


