My CSA on You Tube

February 4, 2009 at 11:13 pm Leave a comment

I’ve just joined the Edible Earthscape CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) Farm, which means that from May through October I’ll have fresh, organically produced vegetables every week that are grown just a few miles from my home. Jason and Haruka Oatis moved to the Pittsboro NC area a year or so ago and began farming at a new incubator on the site of the Biofuels Coop. I’m excited about trying their CSA because I enjoy seeing new farmers taking root here (good for the environment, the local economy and me) and I want to support the incubator. (In fact, I’m open to the idea of “incubating” new CSA farmers on my own land. I’ve got a good source of water, natural fertilizer and all the leaves and newspapers you need for mulch, plus plenty of land close to the markets. I’m willing to trade use of my land for a small share of what’s grown.)  Meanwhile, here’s a video of Jason explaining how he chose to move to Pittsboro from Japan and why he and Haruka are committed to sustainable farming. http://edibleearthscape.wordpress.com/videos/You can also check out their blog and learn how you can subscribe to the CSA. http://edibleearthscape.wordpress.com

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Saving the planet one meal at a time Jeff and Cameron’s excellent culinary adventure

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 52 other subscribers

Categories

Archives